Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

The death of sea animals that was caused by eating plastic garbage is becoming a trending topic news recently. This issue makes some people believe that the usage of shopping bags that made of plastic materials should be prohibited because it can poison the land and underwater living. This essay will explain why I believe it is true and some supporting reasons related to it. First and foremost, it is scientifically proven that plastic polymer is not degradable for at least 100 years. It can cause several problems to the environment. For example, Kuta Beach, located in Bali, spotted in a world newspaper because the journalist found it full of plastic trash. People all over the world start to make a campaign to protect its beauty and cleanliness and since then the local council has made a regulation to avoid the usage of plastic bags. Another example is, as mentioned above, so many sea animals dead and in most of the cases plastics are found in their digestive system. If it keeps happening, some animal species will extinct. To solve this problem, we have to find alternative materials to change the plastic usage. Some eco-friendly companies produce shopping bag that made of tapioca flour so, unlike plastic bags, it is degradable. Using bamboo and stainless straw also can help to save the environment. To conclude, I am certain that the outlaw of plastic shopping bags can help much to reduce the land and ocean pollution. The government has to encourage the shops to use some alternative materials such as bamboo and stainless steel for the straw and biodegradable bag for the shopping necessary.