In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

The night can be dangerous given that it may provide propitious tools to people to commit certain crimes. Because of this, in some places of the US, youngsters are only allowed to walk at night if accompanied by an adult. I do not agree that this type of ' curfew ' is the best option to handle this situation. This essay will discuss why it is not the best option. Firstly, the main issue about requiring teenagers to only walk at night with adults is the privacy. Like everybody else, teenagers have their own needs and desires. Based on this, sometimes, they may just want to go out at night to talk with a friend, date, or even think and decide something. Some of these activities should be realized alone, given that an adult can not contribute or advise in these situations. Moreover, an adult in these cases can only make things worse, since the youngster may feel ashamed of the awkward situation. Therefore, when one imposes such a ' curfew ' limiting them to only walk at night accompanied by an adult, all those needs and desires become somehow limited. Secondly, it is part of the personal growth to handle distinct situations and problems. When you go out alone and face some unexpected situation, you are required to handle it by yourself. While going through that experience, your mind will absorb that situation and its consequences, which will only make you grow. For example, if a teenager is robbed while walking alone at night, he or she will assimilate the situation and will be able to better handle another problem like this in the future. However, if there is always an adult accompanying the youngster, then the latter will not be able to absorb the experience given that the adult will always step up and face the situation. Therefore, with a ' curfew ', the personal growth of the teenagers will be affected. In conclusion, although some people may argue that the ' curfew ' is used to protect the teenagers, I believe that they have much more to gain by walking alone and facing the distinct situations and problems by their own.