Some people say music is a good way of bringing people of different culture and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In recent times, many social arts are being employed as tools for bringing people together. While some people are of the opinion that music is one of such instruments used to unify people of varying ages and ethnicity, others think otherwise. This essay will discuss the reasons for the variations in people's position regarding music as such avenue, and why I strongly agree with the group that sees music as such peaceful tool. Lately, different musicians have resolved to using music as platforms for opposing governments and showcasing violence. This is because of their understanding that songs have a strong effect on their audience and can go viral within a split second. For example, most Jamaican reggae tracks capitalize on making derogatory remarks about governments and display other negative scenes such as smoking. Also, studies have shown that three out of every five albums of such Jamaican music encourage opposition to leaders and social vices. Hence, this school of thought strongly believe that music has caused more diversity than uniformity. On the other hand, some artists have ensured to preach peace, unity and progress among children and adults from all over the world while singing. They believe songs can stir up emotions positively and affect the way people think and act. For instance, a popular music track made during Haiti's natural disaster sometime in 2008, drew the inputs of world class performers from across the globe, and this also attracted positive response from people of different religions and tribes towards the incident. Therefore, the role of music in bringing people together in such situations can not be overemphasized. In conclusion, many musicians utilize songs differently to either harmonize people or make their differences obvious among them. In my opinion, I totally agree that music has played a major part in uniting people across all age groups and social beliefs.