Both poor and rich find the accessibility into university difficult. Do you agree or disagree?

Entry into university irrespective of socioeconomic status has always been a controversial topic, besides controversies the alarming question is that whether tertiary education is even accessible to all the students or not? I agree with the statement and believe that it has become extremely hard for the students to even enter university owing to the disproportion in the student number and seat availability, compounded with increased percentage of scholars and fee structure. To begin with, in recent decades the secondary school graduated student numbers has tremendously increased, resulting in asymmetry between the eligible students and available seats. This difference creates burden on the university management, compelling them to raise the standards of eligibility. For instance, in India, in 2018, 1 million students graduated from schools, whereas the seats available are around 0.1 million, statistically making it hard for students entering a university. Furthermore, despite making academic standards high, the management also demanded huge amounts as compensation to allocate particular seats. Hence, making it unapproachable for the students of both high and low socioeconomic groups. For example, according to a recent article in TIMES newspaper, it is mentioned that, university fee has sky rocketed meaning it costs a life for the student’s parents to afford a tuition seat globally, either it could be a developed country or a developing nation. To conclude, finally having studied so hard for years with good grades, still the students are unable to be sure of entering a top institution, irrespective of their economic background to fulfil their dream. Thus, strengthening my argument that financial status does not play a key role in obtaining a student access to a university.