Some people say that art subjects such as music, drama and creative writing are an essential part of education, and every school should include them in its syllabus. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience

For the holistic development of children, schools should have a perfect mix of academic as well as non-academic subjects. According to some people, it should be made compulsory for students to learn music, acting and creative writing. I agree with this viewpoint as learning these subjects will enhance their creative skills, and they will also get a much needed break from regular subjects. To begin with, having extracurricular subjects such as arts, drama and creative writing in the syllabus helps students enormously. This is because when students learn these courses, it enables them to develop their creative, thinking and imaginative skills, which are beneficial for learning academic subjects. For instance, it is easier for a student with higher imagination capabilities to solve a complex mathematics problem. Additionally, some children are blessed with artistic skills so these classes will give them a platform where they can develop these abilities further and perfect them. Another benefit of having non-academic subject in the curriculum is that it alleviates the academic pressure on children. These subjects give students a much needed break from their regular academic curriculum. Undoubtedly, competition among students has increased which can sometimes lead to stress. Therefore, it has become imperative for both schools and parents to let children spend some time doing activities which can give them a chance to relax their mind and body. For this reason, many schools have already included such subjects as part of their syllabus. If, however, students are not given this break, it will become difficult for them to stay focused, motivated and enthusiastic in other subjects because of stress. To conclude, including arts, drama and creative writing in school curriculum will help students to reap rich benefits by strengthening their thinking power and relaxing their mind; therefore, they should be made a mandatory part of the school syllabus.