Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rate of juvenile crime is increasing within a fraction of minute in some countries. Some people think that it can only be reduced if there are more police officers patrolling the different areas. From my perspective, this method of controlling criminals is not always effective and definitely not the only in the century of cutting-edge technology. To begin with, there is a misconception that if authorities allocate more police to areas where the rate of offenders is high, the security status in those places will probably be improved. There are some examples which are worth mentioning. Despite great number of police workers in developed European countries such as Belgium, France and the Netherlands, numerous terroristic crimes in recent years have not been prevented. It can be seen that as soon as the police leave the hot spots, the criminals can come back and this measure fail to address other crimes that may occur online or indoor. Additonally, many hardened criminals who are well-prepared and get ready to encounter with the authority, including fights with police are not likely to be arrested. Furthermore, the crime rate can be manipulated by many other ways. By installing CCTV systems, the streets will be put under control twenty-four hours per day. Thus, there is no need for the presence of security forces. In addition, enforcing stringent civil laws can also be a deterrent to crime. If there is strict punishment for crimes like robbery, kidnapping, murder etc. then criminals will be more scared of doing such crimes. Also there should be a ban on the use of liquor and drugs, that is one of the factors to instigate the atrocious mind of people. Another solution which authorities could perform to tackle criminal issues is to keep the society out of disorder by developing the economy. When a huge number of job are created, the unemployment rate, which is one of main reason leading to the growth of crimes, are more likely to be reduced. In conclusion, increasing the number of police officers in the roads is not a reliable solution to reduce crime. There should be a change in the legal system and tougher laws should be made by the government to reduce the criminal acts.