Some people believe that advertising has a strong effect on a person's decision making process. Others feel that it has little or no real impact. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In our society, advertisements are ubiquitous and people sometimes get trapped by their marketing strategies. However, although some people believe that advertising can influence on people's decision making, I side with those who feel that there is little impact on people's motivation to buy products. On the one hand, it can be argued that advertisements are usually visually attractive to get consumers' attraction. In fact, a lot of artistic work is done for them by professional graphic artists. For example, fast food industry often provides very quality advertisement that makes them better than they actually look like. Furthermore, advertisements are to show seasonal trends, so that people who are keen to follow those trends can be informed the current trends. However, despite the benefits of advertising, I side with those who believe that people get less interest from advertisement. People in our sophisticated society, in my opinion, are way smarter than ever before and they are no longer easy to be lured by the industries. Since most customers expect that advertisements are exaggerated, they are more likely to be cautious what to believe and to buy. Additionally, I personally believe that cost-effective goods are more chance to be purchased than the goods which were on advertisements. Price, in my view, is what matters for buyers after all. Finally, the strongest argue is that people's personal opinion on the products. Individuals are most likely to trust their friends or relatives' personal opinions comparing to advertise. In short, although advertising often shows the trends to customers and they are usually well designed and attract people, consumers are now wiser when they try to buy something than before and they also tend to believe what other people said, not the information on advertisements. Therefore, on balance, I strongly believe that advertising has no impact for the people's decision making process.