Some people claim that it is acceptable to use animals in medical research for the benefit of human beings, while others argue that it is wrong. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern society, laboratory test on animals is a common way of ensuring the safety of a new medicine or medical procedure and most people have formed this conception that it is acceptable that animals are tested on for medical purpose. However, whether it is legal is different from whether it is ethical, especially when we see it not from our human perspective. Obviously people who support this practice put more value on human life than animals ’ and they believe that animals should be sacrificed for the benefits of human races. To maximize the health and safety of mankind, animal test is the best way to get the accurate and reliable data for a particular medicine or procedure because animals have similar biological characters and structures. Conducting experiments on animals before launching a new therapy is also a responsible practice to patients who deserve every respect to their life. However, it is equally reasonable to say that animals have their intrinsic right to life. In other words, animals and humans have totally the same rights to live on the earth and therefore no one should take the life of the other for any purpose. Animal protectors also raise the evidence that laboratory rats have nerve system which means that they can feel pain. That is why many opponents of animal testation suggest computer simulation, hoping to replace the cruel way of experimentation with machine. To summarize this essay, while I believe animals should be respected under every circumstance, I have to admit that there is no better way than medical testation on animals to secure patients against potential dangerous effects. Reconciliation is hard to achieve, but suggestion can be to control the number of animals tested on in laboratory and reduce the pain that they may endure during the experiments.