Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Being a resident in a nation where it is paramount to speak a foreign dialect can lead to grave social problems, including realistic issues. I totally agree with this view because not only will it mount pressure on the individual to learn the language fast, it will also cause misunderstanding in understanding the people's culture and belief. The reason why I agree with this view that residing in a nation that you have to speak their dialect can result in serious social issues and practical problems is because of the pressure that will be mounted on the individual to learn the language fast because of communication problem. In other words, they will be put under stress to learn the dialect as soon as possible to foster easy communication. For example, my elder sister, who travelled to India for treatment, was compelled to master their local tongue due to the barrier in communicating with the health professionals. Therefore, one can be pressured to learn a foreign language fast when faced with difficulty in communicating with the locals in the foreign land. Another reason why I agree with this view is that there may be misunderstanding in comprehending their culture and belief. That is, the individual from the foreign country might not comprehend the way of life of the people of that nation and it could affect their relationship. Take for instance, a man, who wears a native attire to a formal setting. Although it might be acceptable in his country, but in the foreign land, it might not be. So, understanding the nations culture and practice is extremely important. In conclusion, residing in a country where you have to speak their local tongue, will not only cause communication barrier, but will also cause misunderstanding in comprehending their way of life and belief.