In some countries, it is illegal for companies to reject job applicant for their age. Is this a positive or negative development.

Every person has the right to work and the potential towards it cannot be decided based on their ages. Although, rejecting job of elderly people would certainly create strain on government, but there will be significant gain in vacancies for youngster that will help in countries development. Youngster play a vital role towards development of nation. The greatest benefit for them is that while applying in companies they won't be judged based on their age rather they will gain significant experience in companies and will leads to development of nation. For instance, now-a-days in India most of companies prefer to hire fresher instead of experienced person, due to which many companies started to invest in youngster and creation of new projects such as artificial intelligence, bullet project and in scientific research, helps them to improve skills and ability to solve problems. Thus, it will ultimately help the nation to grow. Secondly, if the elderly were discriminated against on the basis of age, then it would cause a strain on public resources because the ageing population is largely a dependent population. Therefore, if this population is without job just because they are older, then it creates a pressure on youngster to provide everything to them. For example, one research suggested that 80% of taxes in Canada are paid from elderly people. So, if they were discriminated then government functioning will be affected and ultimately affect the country. In conclusion, companies giving equal rights to every individual will be on positive side for countries development because it is fair, it increases the skills and ability to solve problems also improving economy of the nation.