In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

An old age brings its own set of challenges in life. In many countries such as Britain, old people prefer to live in the old-age homes where they can get proper medical facilities. Some people argue that family members of these elderly people should incur all the expenses for their stay. However, in my opinion, the government should pay for this care. This essay will further elaborate on my viewpoint with relevant examples. The first and foremost reason why the government should take up the responsibility of senior citizens is that these people have paid taxes to the government for their entire life. In other words, older people have adhered to protocols and the taxation system of bureaucrats for so long. Now in this difficult situation of life, it is a moral responsibility of law enforcing agencies to support them. For example, a recent research conducted by the students of the University of Michigan discovered that a salaried person on average pays 50 percent of his income in form of direct or indirect taxes to the government. Thus, policy maker should step up and help elderly people in their hour of need. On the other hand, some people think that it is the obligation of the family to pay for the care of their senior members. Many families may be able to afford it, but they are not considering the poorer section of the society, those who struggles for basic living. They are clearly being selfish, and are ignoring the overall impact on the poorer families. To conclude, although few rich families can afford this expenditure, a major section of the society would not be able to pay for the care of old people. Governments should take up the entire responsibility to take care of the older population by paying for their old-age home expenses and by allocating funds for their medical care.