Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is a tremendous increase in the number of working parents. This trend has led to an ongoing debate on various methods to engage children in their free time. Some people think that the young ones should learn to keep themselves busy on their own as it teaches one to be strong and self-sufficient. While others, including myself, believe that children should take part in the group activities as it improves self-confidence and communication skills of the little ones. This essay will elaborate on my view further and discuss both sides with reasons and relevant examples. On the one hand, some argue that children should learn to engage themselves on their own. For instance, studies show that when put in a difficult situation, children who are alone out-perform children with siblings. This is because single children learn to survive through odds all by themselves and eventually, leads to the development of inner strength. Whereas, the ones with siblings are always protected and guarded by their elder brothers or sisters. It clearly proves that self-engagement makes one to be independent. On the other hand, a few hold an opinion that the organised group activities are better for children in terms of their overall social growth. For example, group activities like 'musical chair' or 'passing the parcel', are designed to instil various aspects such as teamwork, coordination and leadership skills. As a result, one learns to share thoughts and ideas with other people effectively and gradually, boosts self-esteem of little ones among others. Therefore, group activities are an excellent way of engagement for children in their leisure time. To conclude, although self-engagement makes one strong and independent, taking part in group activities makes one sociable and confident. Therefore, I feel schools should provide more such group events or games which improves interactive skills and confidence in the young ones.