In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

One of the greatest accomplishments of this day and age is the Internet, which enabled us to share information with the world. Anyone can read an online book or attend a class from home, this advancement in technology has led many people to prefer e- books over paper books. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of using e- books compared to paper books. The two main advantages of using e- books are the accessibility of e- books and the great decrease in paper manufacturing and paper waste. In others words, one may need to drive or pay for a public transportation in order to go to a bookstore and buy a paper book compared to downloading an e-book in his home. Moreover, paper manufacturing has a great impact on changing forests and changing the biodiversity, owing to that one must be aware of his paper usage. By encouraging the use of e- books instead of paper book we can as a society control the process of paper manufacturing as well as decreasing the amount of paper waste. On the other hand, using e- books has a few disadvantages such as the violence of copy rights that some writer suffers from and that reading from a mobile or a computer screen can increase one's screen time, which proved to be harmful. Through most of the websites that sell e- books are aware of the copy right and its legal issues there are some websites that distribute the e- books for free. This act can harm the writer and the publishing agency directly and cause serious consequences for the website owners. Also, many studies have proved the physical harm caused by spending long hours looking at a screen daily. Thus, by reading books on screen we might can harm more than good. In conclusion, the trend toward using e- books can help the environment and made reading easier. However, one must pay attention to his daily screen exposure and to the websites he chooses to buy books from.