Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe it is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss on both sides and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable that cultural traditions attract tourists from all over the world and develop local economy. Some individuals are of the opinion that these may be destroyed if they are modified to attract tourists. Others, however, hold the view that if we don’t use them for tourism, they will die. In the following paragraphs, I shall discuss both sides of the argument. We have to make these cultural traditions alluring for tourists because we need tourists. Firstly, tourism boosts our economy and secondly we get a chance to spread our culture to different countries. If our artists and artisans do not earn money from their art, which depicts our culture and tradition, then this art will die off and we’ll only be the losers. Tourism is the backbone of any country’s economy and every country does their effort to attract tourists. Many people depend on tourism for their livelihood. People in the food industry, hotel industry and transport industry depend on tourism. Presentation is very important to attract visitors and to present nicely, some change is inevitable. On the other hand, when cultural traditions are used as money-making attractions, they lose their original features. Sometimes it makes cultural traditions disappear altogether. However, I believe that culture and tradition are deep rooted and minor superficial changes cannot harm them in any way. Change is the law of nature and all we should look into is that the changes are made with caution to retain the inherent elements of culture. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, to save cultural traditions we need to make some changes to make them alluring to the tourist of today. If we don’t do so we’ll lose our cultural traditions altogether and we’ll lose our tourists also.