Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Do you agree or disagree?

Today, people will commit different atrocities. In order to maintain law and order in the society, judiciary gives out appropriate punishment. The prompt states that the best way to punish offenders is by remanding them in prison. This essay will discuss why I completely disagree with this statement and, also provide accompanying examples. Admittedly, imprisonment might be the best form of punishment for some criminals. For instance, forgery or stealing. The individual is remanded for a given period of time during which reformation programs are organised. This is done because it is believed that the individual's stay in prison might reform such an individual and consequently become a better version of himself or herself. Thus, in this case, I would agree that imprisonment is appropriate. However, there are situations in which the individuals involved are regarded as criminals by the law, but all that is needed to turn the persons around is some months of community service. In addition, the prison might be too harsh for such a person and remanding them will only make them worse. On the other hand, imprisonment might be too lenient for some other crimes. For example, a serial killer on the loose. There is no reforming such person, therefore, the essence of sending this person to a place where reformation can be achieved would be useless. Instead, he/she comes out to continue the crime. Hence, in cases like this, spending some time locked up is not enough. In conclusion, I absolutely disagree that every criminal deserves to the remanded. While some deserve it, others deserve less or more punishment.