Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion?

Countries across the world have been investing heavily in providing easier bicycle access. It seems, the rise is to develop a clean and pollution free environment. Whereas considering this mode a best way to deal with traffic problem is ineffective. The Bicycle has been a popular mode of travelling for ages. It is because, neither it needs electrical power, nor fossil fuel to operate. Therefore, it is understandable that it is a pollution free mean of travelling. So, the authorities have been making specific bicycle lanes for people. In addition, unlike other transportations, bicycle is easily affordable for the masses. Thus, the bicycling is being promoted for several advantages. Although the bicycle is conducive in controlling pollution, it is not a solution to control traffic congestion. This has a couple of reasons: a slowest mode of commuting and accessible up to a limited radius. So, it is easily surpassed by faster channels of private transportation: cars, motorbikes and trams, which cause over crowded roads. Though, encouraging people to use more and more public transportation can be a possible solution. Not only will this reduce the number of vehicles on roads, but also lessen air contamination. Consequently, education regarding environmental issues by transportation is more crucial to eliminate excessive traffic congestion. To conclude, while much attention is paid to easy bicycling access for the public, yet it can not control traffic congestion which can be dealt by making people aware of the consequences and benefits.