It is important to give children the chance to act independently and make their own decisions from early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

A number of children desire to live independently these days. Some people think that it is significant that children are given the opportunity to act independently and they can make their own decisions from an early age. I completely disagree with this idea, and I believe that parents should guide their children. First of all, there are some reasons as to why children should not act freely in daily life. One of the main reasons is that children do not have a greater knowledge of modern life and they should gain experience by observing parents and others’ lives. For instance, some children tend to start smoking cigarettes, which is harmful to their health and lead to severe diseases from a very young age. If children can realize that smoking is addictive and not beneficial for them by observing the problems which others suffer. Moreover, video game addiction has become a concerning problem among children in recent years, and this trend impacts their mental health in a negative way, which, in turn, result in game addiction, stress, anxiety, and depression. Therefore, children should not be given a large space of personal and freedom Secondly, children who lack parental supervision tend to more likely to become obese. The reason is that children prefer more consuming junk food rather than home-cooked food. As a result of that, they suffer from obesity from an early age. For example, health experts suggest that TV is a major culprit in childhood obesity. A number of children who move independently tend to watch TV for hours, and those who watch TV a lot, attend less physical activities. The lack of physical exercise in children plays a major role in developing obesity. Thus, parental supervision is by far more important than children's independence. In conclusion, is it important that children are allowed act autonomously? Considering the given reasons, it is not literally important that children live as they wish. I fully disagree with the idea that children should not be dependent on their parents, whereas they should make their own decision. The reason is that If parents allow them to act independently and make their own decisions, children suffer from health problems caused by smoking and video games as well as obesity, which is a concerning problem among children.