Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People's opinion differs as to whether or not school children should deal with a certain amount of homework after school. While there are some intense arguments against the fact of assigning homework, I firmly believe that it is an essential aspect of education. On the one hand, there are a vast number of reasons why people would argue that homework is considered an unnecessary burden upon children. Many parents would agree that school hours have already been extended and stressful enough, which puts their children in a state of constant tiredness. Besides, children need time to participate in recreational activities such as doing sports, enjoying outdoor activities with friends, or simply just spending quality time with family because engaging in physical activities plays a vital role in a child’s cognitive development. Another reason is that homework is not needed to reflect the outcome of children if compared amongst other countries. For instance, even without doing homework, the number of pupils who graduate from high school in Finland is higher than in the US. This fact, once again, regains people’s belief in the unnecessary of homework. On the other hand, I would argue that assignments could bring enormous benefits to the schooling of children. Firstly, it is undeniable that the act of doing homework is one of the best ways to revise the lessons because the process of applying theoretical knowledge into practice helps to enhance comprehension. For example, to be able to solve an equation, a schoolchild needs to review, understand and apply his mathematical knowledge that he has learned from his class. Also, doing those exercises would develop their independent studying habits and problem-solving skills as they have to complete tasks alone at their own pace. These habits and skills would eventually play an essential part in their work as adults afterward. In conclusion, while there are some conflicting opinions about giving homework for school children, I believe that the benefits of practicing homework outweigh the drawbacks in helping pupils acquire knowledge in the long term.