New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

The way young people spend their free time has always evolved. The new change is because of the introduction of technology into the lives of the current generation. This essay examines the advantages and disadvantages and provides evidence to prove how the cons outweigh the pros Firstly, children these days have unlimited access to a lot of educational content. This content is freely available on the internet and can be read or seen through most devices like television, cell phones, computers etc. For instance, apps like Byju have excellent free videos across classes and you will often find students glued to their phone, learning from it. Another important benefit is the fact that relying on tech during leisure hours also opens up a whole new door of the social world for young people. They can connect to the people of their interest, learn from them and understand a variety of cultures. If you look at a portal called LinkedIn, for example, it has professionals across industries and it provides a great platform for kids to find a mentor. However, kids have reduced going out and playing which has reduced their physical activities. This is mostly because they find all the entertainment that they need, on the mobile devices. For example, they'd prefer watching a couple of videos on the phone rather than going out in the garden. Secondly, they have uncontrolled access over content which could be dangerous for them. Hardly anybody monitors what a child reads, watches or plays. Recent incidents of suicide because of the Blue Whale App is a classic example of this issue. To conclude, even though technology comes with a number of positive things, depending on it even during your free time is not advisable. This is because a number of disadvantages like safety and staying indoors outweighs its advantages.