These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the way in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Internet and cell phones have offered a myriad of applicable methods in several aspects in modern life; their online applications on social relationships have become indispensable. Although there are still drawbacks of interact socially online by these ways, I believe that their advantages are more significant. To begin with, depending on mobile online applications in social communication could cause hazardous influence on individuals’ psychological state. To illustrate, a recent study by the University of Singapore, involved about 10.000 psychological patients, showed that 3 out of 10 of these patients are suffering from alienation and loneliness as a result of their social behavior manner of acting or controlling yourself behaviour, and the lack of face-to-face interactions with their social networks is a major contributory factor. As this example illustrated, if people communicate with others online without enjoy the sense of gathering, this could result psychological disturbances. Nevertheless, I suppose the advantages of using online social platforms would eclipse their negatives as saving time is one of these merits. This is exemplified by, organizing social events, namely birthday parties or family outing, have become easier by creating an event on Facebook, the well-known social platform. This show, many people could keep in touch with their beloved ones all day long throughout mobile apps which facilitate their communication. Furthermore, social media facilitate gaining information by its instant notifications; people could realize a plethora of world news which enrich their knowledge. For instance, many people all over the world updated with the Egyptian revolution events, in 2011, by surfing the internet such as Google and YouTube websites. This would broaden people horizon and enhance their knowledge. In conclusion, despite the negative influence of using smart phones and the internet on individuals’ psychological state, I hold the notion that its advantages exceed the drawbacks it may cause. Because not only do online applications facilitate people’s social communication, but also it could provide them with valuable information.