Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

There is no doubt that traffic and pollution have become a huge problem everywhere, both in cities and on motorways. Solving these problems is likely to need more than a simple rise in the price of petrol. It is undeniable that private car use is one of the main causes of the increase in traffic and pollution, but higher fuel costs are unlikely to limit the number of drivers for long. The rising prices of fuel can not influence wealthy people who own many luxury cars and use one by one independently, that is also known as one-car-one-man. In other words, the most contributor to vehicle fumes, who also creates full of congestion, is the middle to upper economics community. Whereas, this pricing policy is certainly implemented to the whole societies that means people from the under to middle classes would be the ones who are incurred the adverse effects. One of them is anyone behind the movement of public transportation. As a result, the costs of such public transport would be increased, whereby leads to the number of its passengers become plummeting considering many workers and students need to travel routinely on the roads. I think that the ways to tackle the pollution and traffic issues effectively are by developing cleaner fuels and changing the type of private vehicle people can use. The technology is already available to produce electric cars that would be both quieter and more environmentally friendly. Persuading manufacturers and travellers to adopt this new technology would be an efficient strategy for improving air quality, particularly in cities. Furthermore, it is also needed to improve the choice of public transport services available for commuters. For example, if the sufficient sky trains and underground train systems were built and maintained excellently, then traffic jam would be dramatically reduced. In conclusion, I disagree that the increasing price of petrol is the ideal way to reduce congestion and pollution since it would burden several groups in the population. In my own perspectives, the long-term traffic and pollution can be solved by using public money to construct electric vehicles and run efficient systems.