The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic congestion has become one of the most severe problems in cities around the world. Some people believe that, the only approach to minimize the traffic is to decrease the necessity for individuals travelling to work, university or shop from home. However, I will support this view with arguments in the following paragraph. It is often said that, the ever-increasing number of vehicles on the roads may cause acute traffic calamities and pollution. This is evident in the rush hour we experience huge congestion every morning and evening since many people go to their destinations using transports. As we know, people can work from home; even they can do anything, such as study and shopping using the internet. For instance, when technology has developed the majority of people can do online work, distance learning and shopping facilities are available online. This certainly helps us to reduce traffic problems on roads, which could diminish pollution, accident, and also save our travel time. As there have many other solutions, namely, evacuate citizens to different regions, and infrastructural development of roads, but these solutions have many limitations. So I think, the above solution would be a viable one for this problem. Nevertheless, even if everyone had access to the technology and the opportunity to work from home, it is unrealistic to think that everyone would want. Even though the technology for working, studying or shopping online makes this option a possibility, on the one hand, it would mean people had less freedom of choice and less social contact in their lives. This would have an astronomical impact on society. In conclusion, although, the majority of people have benefited from working, studying or shopping from home so that people should support the idea to do things from home using the internet which not only reduces choking traffic but also develop people’s way of living.