Some people think the governments should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles in order to solve environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a view of many people that in order to save nature from emissions, the price of fuel should be increased to minimize the use of cars and motorbikes. I completely agree that imposing taxes or raise the prices of fuel is an optimal solution by promoting other available resources for t raveling the act of going from one place to another travelling with minimum carbon footprint to enhance environmental conditions. Firstly, transport is an essential part of urban life, and inconvenient or lengthy journeys are frustrating for those concerned. Furthermore, people tend to travel long distances for work or leisure, as we see in most metropolitan cities such as Karachi or Lahore, where too many vehicles use the existing road network, and congestion is inevitable. Consequently, many conurbations also lack finance for transport-hubs such as integrated road and rail facilities which could facilitate people with public-transport, hopefully leading to an absence of problems such as bottlenecks and carbon emissions. This could easily be tackled with imposing taxes and regulations on fuel, especially for private vehicles so that the state could utilize that income for building infrastructure as was applied successfully in Turkey during the 1990s. Lastly, with less cars on the roads, the would be a decrease in hazardous gases, which would lessen the burden for healthcare systems, dealing with the patients with respiratory diseases. In addition to that, minimum drivers on the roads mean less chances of accidents, leading to convenience and stress-free travelling for most of the people. For instance, in most western countries, the high prices of taxi fares encourage people to travel in public buses which promotes green environmental conditions. In conclusion, while high prices of petrol might facilitate people who can actually afford comfort, the people with the least resources could take more advantage of state-sponsored public buses and save a significant money on their health and transport.