SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT THE BEST WAY TO IMPROVE PUBLIC HEALTH IS BY INCREASING THE NUMBER OF SPORTS FACILITIES. OTHERS, HOWEVER, SAY THAT THIS WOULD HAVE LITTLE EFFECT ON PUBLIC HEALTH AND THAT OTHER MEASURES ARE REQUIRED. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

There is an ongoing debate over the methods for improving public health and lifestyle. While some people believe that an increase in the sports facilities is the most effective approach, in my perspective, a nutritive diet is more essential for improving the health of people. To begin with, those who favour an increase in the number of sports facilities believe that a rigorous workout improves physical and psychological health. This is because physical activities burn the excessive calories in the body and thus lead to weight loss and fitness. Also, they regulate the blood circulation, which energizes the brain and improves its functionality. For instance, an annual survey of the 'Employee Health Organisation' states that employees who are engaged in regular sports are more productive in comparison than others. However, owing to the lifestyle, people hardly get time to avail of sports facilities and hence this approach cannot be considered as the best one. On the other hand, many people hold the view that gaming facilities alone cannot ensure the fitness of the people, there are many other approaches that should be considered. Of all the ways, the most crucial is the availability of healthy and nutritive diet for the people. The reason for this is that the functioning of the human mind and body are regulated by the quality of food intake. Healthy food provides energy and zeal to perform physical and mental work. Therefore, the availability of green vegetables, fruits and food rich in minerals and vitamins is quintessential for the well-being of people. The midday meal scheme in which a free nutritive meal is provided by the government of India to the school students in order to improve their nutritional status serves the best example of this approach. In conclusion, although sports facilities enhance public health to some extent, in my opinion, other measures such as the availability of healthy food are much more effective.