Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Cooperation and competition are two key components of life. Some individuals believe that competition motivates children to perform better so as to cope with a much more competitive society. However, others argue that children who are exposed by the spirit of cooperation learn best when they work cooperatively with others. This essay will examine both views, and my own opinion regarding the matter will be outlined. On the first side of the argument, competition is regarded as a sort of motivation that encourages individuals to work harder and bring out the best in them. In order words, competition pushes people forward. However, according to certain scientists, unabated competition may overall decrease in human achievement. Furthermore, some research findings have indicated that too much competition may cause poor health. Cooperation, on the other hand, despite being neglected by the educational system, many parents and the society, helps children to obtain a better sense of community, belonging and acceptance. Moreover, if children learn with each other through cooperation, they will likely carry the characteristics mentioned above with them as they mature. The fact is that too much unsupported emphasis has been put on competition while teaching young people how to cooperate does not receive the appropriate level of interest. For example, High school students in China often receive too much pressure from their parents and schools due to the fierce competition that they face on study while on the other hand, cooperation among students is seldom encouraged. In conclusion, individuals are more likely to cooperate when such cooperation would entail competing against third parties. Therefore, establishing a competitive environment has its own merits. However, in my opinion, the power of cooperation should be better recognized and individuals should be taught how to balance both cooperation and competition.