Universities should be concerned with educating people so that they have wide general knowledge and be able to , consider important matters from an informed viewpoint, and not simply prepare students for jobs required by society. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I would like to extend my support to the statement that Universities should be educating people in such a way that the students can be aware of the world around them. instead of simply preparing them for jobs required by society. The reason being I myself have been subjected to such a way of teaching during my under graduate. I was learning a of subjects that were relevant to my course structure but completely irrelevant to the outside market. And I was able to realise that only after joining a profession. The four years that we toil in the university literllay boils down to the graduate certificate that serves only as a document to fulfil the application criteria. Its the resposibility of the University to train their students in such a way that the not only understand the concepts but also find a practical use to all that they learnt in the classes. The universities should invite marker professionals to conduct guest lectures to the students on the projects and job markets in the respective field. Lack of general knowledge would put the students in an awkard position when they face the employers who expect the students to be up to date with the all the information from around the world. Moreover, learning about day to day developments and happenings across the world would make the students more confident and provides them with global exposure. There was a youtube post in relation to the recent CAA and NRC protests across the country where the youtuber asked a couple of college students protesting from a National University rasing repeated slogans in chorus against the ruling party for passing the CAA bill, they replied that they joined their fellow students in the rally just as an excuse to bunk classes and the worst part was they dont even know what really is meant bt the CAA and NRC. This incident not only brings an sympathy on those students but also a fear.I said fear because of the consequences of negligence of such students in a biggest democracy like India. Hence, I would like to conclude that in addition to the self awareness of the students, the universities along the Educational Ministry should alter the syllabus for the students in such a way that they could develop an awareness before stepping into the real world from college.