Universities should be concerned with educating people so that they have wide general knowledge and be able to , consider important matters from an informed viewpoint, and not simply prepare students for jobs required by society. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Universities are higher educational institutions that offer training to students in various fields. Some people generally believed it should focus its attention solely on educating people in other to develop vast understanding of important life matters from an informed viewpoint rather than preparing individuals for work opportunities required by the community. From an individual perspective, I strongly agree with this view. On the one hand, there are several benefits that will be gained if universities invest more in increasing the general knowledge of students. First, there will be enough room to cover all important aspect of the curriculum, this will assist students develop better understanding of their course of choice without distractions. As a result of this, expert in different profession will be produced. Take Western Nigeria as a case study, recently, according to the research conducted by a senior lecturer, University of Ibadan, low productivity at work was traced back to inadequate training in during school days. Secondly, it equipped students with good decision making skills. Human life is based on risk taking and choices. The decisions will make today can either make or destroy our lives. Graduates that have undergone this process effectively always turn out better than their counterparts who were not provided the opportunity. On the other hand, getting undergraduates ready for what the labour market entails can not be underestimated. Previous knowledge about what makes an employee the best fit for employer’s choice will prepare them for what life has in stock. This will also increase their ability to operate within their maximum capacity at work. In addition, it graduates can perfectly adapt to the society In conclusion, it will be of great benefits to both Learners and society at large if universities strike a balance between these two areas