Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Generally speaking, it is known to all human beings nowadays that the world has now become a small village after the booming of the technology and transportation facilities. People can get to different parts of the world and get part of the world with all its goods, foods, and culture back. Although some people are in favour of meals which are not related to their culture and place of origin, it appears that relying on homegrown foodstuff will have a great impact on any country’s economy and environment. In my case, I favour local food or meals which is prepared from local ingredients due to several reasons which I will be summarizing. The first and most important aspect which will always ensure the sustainability of any country’s nature and ecosystem is encouraging plantation and farming. These activities will provide more green areas that are the main source of goods and better health. Also, boosting the agriculture and its relative actions would aid in keeping the local soil active and avoid its erosion. For example, due to the mass cutting of trees, in my home country Lebanon, after each rainy day a lot of areas will be swimming in soil floods which always cause a great deal of damage. All these environmental outcomes are things that are worth a great deal of consideration for any nation. The other area, where pushing and inspiring harvesting crops and raising domesticated animals for local goods, will yield in improving a country’s economy. This is as a result of providing jobs in farming, food production, and crop growing to reduce the unemployment percentages. Moreover, this will dictate that less governmental budgets would be allocated to import goods related to cooking from abroad. Thus, residing in more money to improve other areas within the country like the educational system. As an example of this, what has been done in Saudi Arabia, through having more relaxed loans to develop farms. Thus, more money has been allocated to improve the educational sectors and more local chains have been created, which are by the way, equal or better than their international peers in my opinion. In conclusion, any country’s economy and environment will be positively impacted by relying on locally grown and prepared foodstuff and goods and it would make it self-dependent.