Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

It is often said that, culture heritage and artistic freedom are the essential parts of any country across the world. From my point of view, ancient structures describe the history and approach of people and their ancestor’s so they should be preserved by the state at any cost. According to some people these should be demolish and new skyscrapers shall be built instead of them, which is socially unacceptable in a vibrant society. In this essay the importance of maintaining the old structures and its protection by court of law shall be discuss. To begin with, historical buildings and monuments are the representation of a nation so they should legitimately secure by law agencies. Likewise, proper maintenance of ancient buildings is also mandatory, as it promotes the tourism industry which is the main backbone for strengthen the economy of country. For instance, Mohatta Palace a landmark which is located in Karachi describes the history of Mohattas who belong to Maheshwari community and became the business industrialist in Karachi. This palace became one of the remarkable tourist spots in the country. On the contrary, historic buildings and scenic sites can become an eyesore and even a burden so they should be eradicated, as they become a gigantic obstacle in the progress of infrastructure development of that particular area. Even though, you could face a long legal battle by taking this bold decision. Moreover, old buildings also disrupt the aesthetics of a city, so investing on them is just a waste of money. In addition, we should invest on food, shelter and clothes as they are the basic needs of a nation. To conclude, there is no doubt that protecting old houses and buildings is indeed important. However, I believe that a little change will not be harmful. We should take into consideration the changes that occur in the environment and somehow learn how to adapt while preserving the trace of our history