Being a celebrity - such as a famous film star or sports personality - brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

It is believed that popularity not only brings advantages, but also some disadvantages for the public figures. In my opinion, being popular has more pros than cons. One of the major benefits of stardom is being valued by others as a person. Celebrities are likely to receive more respect and priority in many cases for their extraordinary images. Moreover, they have vast networking, which help them to facilitate their career progression. Besides, as they have a face value, they are paid more compared to others for their work; therefore, being famous increases the financial strength of a person. Thus, famous people receive more privileges than others. For instance, a recent survey conducted by Vogue magazine reveals that the net wealth of the film stars is much higher than ordinary workers. On the other hand, celebrities often face a privacy violation. Famous people often followed by the paparazzi and because of that, sometimes their private issues get viral through the news reports or social networking sites. That means that, they have the highest possibility of facing personal problems. For example, the divorce rate is comparatively higher among celebrities than ordinary people and one of the key reasons for their relationship break-up is scandals that reported from various media portals. In conclusion, while the major benefit of fame is, it allows people to have honour, the drawback is the chances of private issues being explored. Nevertheless, I believe as long as the stars are involving themselves for good work, the advantages that they will receive from their stardom will outweigh the drawbacks.