People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individually and on society.

Experts throughout both the developed and developing nations are debating about insomnia being spread among individuals like forest fire these days. In this essay I will discuss examples from The Times Newspaper and Oxford University to provide illustrations and prove points. Time is the most import aspect of life for an individual in this fast paced world. People are now spending less time for personal development and care than before. The main reason behind this is twofold, firstly, the stress from workplace for promotions, competitions have increased so much that in a normal office, employees have to work longer hours to hold their current positions and get promotion and raise. A recent article from The Times Newspaper mentioned that the levels of insomnia have risen tremendously among IT workers in past few years because of “Agile” development methodology. On the other hand, not only workers but students, especially university ones are also facing sleeplessness more often these days. Because of tough and high number of syllabus in the curriculum students are spending more time in studying and preparing for exams and reducing their bed time. Research faculties in the Oxford University shows that students enrolled in Bachelor’s program are studying 18 hours a day to cope with their curriculum and spending only 4 hours for taking rest. Less sleep not only affects individuals health but society as well. Because of insufficient amount of sleep people have gained tendency to get angry more often. Also these days’ people are seeking more medical attention than before. A recent survey from Government of Canada shows that citizens are visiting doctors frequently for mental health conditions like short temper and it was found that the main reason behind this was less sleep. To summarise all the arguments I can conclude that people should now spend more time in bed resting and relaxing before prioritizing other things benefiting not only themselves but society.