The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that imposing harsher punishments on driving offenses is the most useful measure to enhance road safety. I largely disagree with this view. It is quite understandable why people claim that more severely punishable actions should be taken by government to have better road safety. The two most notable causes of fatal accidents in the road are that a large amount of drivers are likely to be indeed addicted and exposed a lot to alcohol and in turn be drunk when they commuting, and driving above the speed limit, which is one of the most popular crimes commited by people. Therefore, giving much stricter punishments such as fining them much higher money or even custodial sentence can render them more careful and entail a falling mortality rate. However, I believe that education is by far the most effective measures so as to improve road safety. To the best of my knowledge, the odds of commiting driving offences sometimes hinges on the attitude of drivers. The government and school should organise a lager number of driving lesson to educate them about the negative consequences of accidents on victims and themselves. Comparing to punishments, the increasing awareness is more practical and time and money saving. To illustrate, if students are taught about attention when driving in the early days, the latter will become the inherent instinct of their life and prevent them from a lot of misdeeds. In conclusion, my convinction is that punishments are important but education is the better solution to tackle road safety problems.