The tendency of human beings copying each other is shown in popularity of fashion clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

Imitating one another is an innate human tendency and this has played a vital role in human evolution. I strongly believe that the increasing tendency of copying other humans is beneficial since it increases the reach of the original work to hitherto unreachable places and reduces the price for those who can’t afford the original work. Though developing an original workforce is time-consuming and copying it violates certain rights of the creator, this helps the society as a whole. Copying enables people to create cheaper versions of the workforce and this increases its accessibility for everyone. For instance, Mona Lisa, which was painted by Leonardo da Vinci in the 16th century, has been copied by thousands of artists and this had enabled the common citizens to purchase an imitation of the masterpiece. Moreover, copying the formulations of medicines helps create cheaper versions of patented costly ones. Though this is a violation of patents and may lead to lawsuits at international courts, this has saved lives of millions of poor people who can’t afford the costly medicines. For example, the World Health Organisation has recently claimed in its report that copied versions of patented drugs for cancer have saved lives of more than a million people in India who could not afford the costly global ones. In conclusion, the increasing trend of copying has made the earth a better place live. Though it has violated the rights of a few rich global companies, it has brought happiness to the lives of millions of poor people. This tendency, however, needs to be monitored under strict regulation since excessive copying will prevent talented individuals from creating innovative products and this may slow down the march of human civilization.