It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

The relationship between modern technology and traditional culture has always been a great concern of many. Some people argue that they both cannot go well with each other and I completely agree with the idea. This essay will discuss how technology affects a culture in a bad way. Firstly, media has played an integral part in damaging the cultures of the world. Advancements in the field of telecommunication have turned the world into a global village. Whatever is available at one corner of the globe can easily be found on the other, which has damaged the uniqueness of any area. This is true for every aspect of life, like the food we eat, the dress we wear, the language we speak. One can see that American culture has become dominant over others, and it is prevailing all over the world. More and more people in Asian countries, for example, are copying the styles of American outfits and street foods in India are widely replaced by KFC and McDonalds. Therefore, media plays a crucial part in making the cultures less distinctive. Furthermore, while development in technology makes our life easier, it also changed the way we live. The introduction of many appliances like the microwave and electric grills has radically transformed the way of our traditional cooking. People no longer spend time in the kitchen to make food for themselves as they were used to do before. In addition, development in travel and tourism industry has made it affordable for everyone to explore the world and to visit different countries. Every time, when a tourist visits a country, he brings with it his own culture, and it leaves some impression on the local people. For instance, a great number of people in Northern Pakistan started wearing jeans after the development of tourist attraction in that area. Hence, the link between the evolution of technology and cultural damage can be seen. In conclusion, I totally agree with the statement that while automation brings comfort to our life, it makes the cultures more vague and instinctive.