In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There was a time when elders were better adjusted to the joint family structure with extended kin providing support. However, nowadays, due to lack of such caring system, looking after the aged parents or grandparents has become a challenge. To remedy the problem, a relatively new trend is prevailing where elders are moving in their age cohort in old age homes. In Britain, this gives rise to a debate as to who should bear the cost of taking care of the elderly, the government or the family. There are some people who are of the opinion that the state, being responsible for the welfare of its citizens should shoulder the responsibility of well being of senior citizens, whereas on the other hand, few believe that this burden should not be placed on the national exchequer rather families should bear such responsibility. I am of the view that the families should attend to their elders. The first and the foremost reason is the nature of parent child relationship. In my opinion, it is a moral and ethical obligation of children to extend support and love of their parents when they reach old age like the way their parents did when the children were young. Moreover, the family would better understand the elderly person and would be in a better position to provide better care rather than relying on an absolute stranger. Elders would be more at ease and feel comfortable among their family members who would be emotionally attached to them and provide care with affection. Secondly, since the cost of elderly care would not be borne by the state, it would save the government a lot of money which can be utilized for some other beneficial purpose, especially in desperate times of economic woes when the government is already resorting to austerity measures. Therefore, considering the aforementioned facts, it would be justified to say that families should pay for the care of their elders.