In many cities, CCTV cameras are being used in order to tackle crime. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Crime rates are soaring around the world. In order to protect citizens and deter offenders, many governments are installing CCTV systems throughout cities. Although some feel that this is an invasion of privacy, I believe that the increased surveillance is of great benefit to society. The major advantage of using security cameras is in the apprehension of criminals. Indeed, these systems in homes, businesses and public spaces have been instrumental in catching people who have committed offences ranging from mugging to murder. When a Melbourne woman was killed in 2012, for instance, the footage of a city street camera was used to identify the perpetrator and bring him to justice within days. If his footage had not been captured, the man might still be roaming the streets, posing a danger to everyone. Clearly, these cameras play a valuable role in justice and law enforcement. In addition to this use in crime detection, CCTV systems can also act as effective deterrents. In other words, if a would-be offender sees a camera in the area, he or she would be much less likely to proceed due to concerns about being identified. This has been proven in Sydney where, since the number of cameras was increased recently, the crime rate, particularly the occurrence of violent crime, has dropped by over 10%. Such evidence strongly suggests that potential offenders are put off by the sight of a camera. In conclusion, cameras are becoming a part of modern cities, whether we like it or not. In my view, they are a welcome addition, bringing justice to victims and safer streets for law-abiding citizens.