In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In some nations, although the rates of serious offences are declining, public still feel unsafe than in the past. The main cause is that people have no security measures around them and the most viable solution is to educate them about self-defence. The primary cause of this phenomenon is after so many major crimes, people did not get any kind of security to save them if they get in any kind of trouble. To explain this further, Government only tells the public that they are now safe, but they have not done anything yet to prove this statement like, providing special security for women traveling at night. For example, a survey conducted in one of the colleges in India shows that 90% of women prefer not to go out after 9 pm because they are afraid of danger they might get into. A long term solution to this problem is to organize campaigns and free classes for public to educate them, how to defend themselves if they are in any kind of problem. Women should be taught about how to carry non-lethal self-defence weapons like pepper spray in their purse and some really effective karate moves. For example, Humber College provides free classes for self-defence every Saturay in North Campus, after a student stabbed a professor several times in his stomach in 2017. In conclusion, the problem that people do not feel safe is because they do not have any protection, but this can be solved by organizing free self-defence campaigns for residents.