Some companies and organizations require their employees to wear uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform?

For some time now, almost all the companies and organizations have made it a mandate for their employees to wear uniform in the workplace. This essay will throw light on both the advantages and disadvantages of wearing the uniform at work. Wearing a business uniform gives the worker an overall professional look. It instills a sense of confidence in himself. For instance, if an IT employee wears an attire decided upon by the organization, it bolsters him to be more productive when working with other professional people around. In addition to this, it gives a direct impression on any outsider, about the discipline and the work culture of the organization. For example, if a client of a firm visits the former's office and sees all the staff the tangible substance that goes into the makeup of a physical object stuff around wearing the same apparel, the latter can draw a clear picture in his mind about the level of professionalism and the institution's commitment towards work. It is for these reasons why companies feel beneficial to make wearing a garb an imperative. Although there are majority of the benefits of making dress code a necessity, its drawbacks cannot be denied. Firstly, an employee can feel bored with following the prosaic routine of wearing the same attire every single day. This can not only hamper his mood, but also his productivity in his assigned tasks can be affected. To exemplify, when an insurance worker is made to wear a particular apparel, it may turn out that he may not be in a mood to do his task with joy. Furthermore, most workers can face comfort issues when it comes to wearing a professional dress. People have different comforts according to the type of costume they are wearing. To illustrate, an employee wearing a trouser of a certain waist length may not feel the same level of comfort as compared to when he wears a pair of jeans of the same measurements. Hence, there are deficits, although negligible, of necessitating the employees to wear a particular type of costume. To sum up, institutions today are increasingly encouraging their employees to follow a strict routine of wearing a professional gear to the office everyday without fail. This essay discussed both the positive and the negative aspects of the same.