Many people believe that university students should study a full range of subjects, instead of some specific subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

With the increase in the number college and university students around the world, a debate has started about whether students should take diverse and different courses or just focusing on their major. In the essay, I will explain why I believe a wider range of courses and sciences is most beneficial for students. Turning firstly to the disadvantages of the full curriculum, increasing the number of subjects and courses required to graduate would increase the burden on students, which might overwhelm some students. A recent survey conducted among British university students has concluded that 70% of the students are already struggling with their study load. Moving on to the benefits of more subjects, diversifying university curriculums would a open a new possibilities for students, it would allow them to learn more about different fields, and how it could be helpful to their majors, which could lead to better integrations and cooperation between scientific fields. For example, engineering students could develop new medical and health system if they have a better understanding in biology and the human body. Furthermore, the more subjects the students have, the more chances they get in fulfilling different job roles, as they will have more knowledge about the new field. For instance, an accountant would be able to help with shipping and transportation, if he previously had a course in logistics. In conclusion, although widening the subjects for students might increase their study loads, I believe its advantages outweigh such drawbacks, hence a more diverse curriculum should be adopted by universities and colleges around the world.