Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people. Others think that it is causing the opposite effect. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that modern technology is reshaping our planet and affecting every aspect of human lives. From a social perspective, many people argue that the gap between the upper class and lower classes is widening as a result of technological advancements. Others, however, believe the opposite. There are several reasons why one could think that the wealth inequality is increasing. The most common reason is the automation. To elaborate more, the work which is done by technology and automatic machineries reduces the need for manual labours. As a result, less work opportunities are available for unskilled people. Secondly, technology has increased the minimum level of needs that should be satisfied. To be more precise, nowadays, everybody should have a mobile phone and the internet connection, including the poor people. This increases the financial burden on them as they must borrow money to cover these new needs and ultimately the gap has increased between economically stronger and weaker people. On the contrary, some individuals believe that technology has diminished the gap between those who are financially stronger and those who are not. The first and foremost reason behind this that now everyone has access to free and affordable education. By using various online platforms, one can learn many practical skills. To explain it further, if a person wants to study, he can pursue a course by using the medium of distance learning and some of the Universities provide short-term courses totally free of cost. Another major reason is technology has given the freedom to everyone to do business regardless of financial status. For instance, even a roadside vendor can sell his food items online by registering on the Andriod an open-source operating system used for smartphones and tablet computers Android mobile applications like Uber Eats and Zomato. Consequently, the gap has been plunging between richer and poorer because both earn well due to the technology. In conclusion, although some claim that modern technology increases the gap between the rich and the poor, I strongly believe that technology has filled the gap between financially stronger and weaker people because a poor person can educate himself using free education and earn by using that knowledge.