Topic. Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a group while others believe that it is better for them to study alone. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With various learning methods existed in the educational system, opinion has been divided on whether collaborative learning improves the effectiveness for students more than individual learning or not. While there are some valid arguments for the virtues of studying as a group, I still believe that students studying individually will likely gain many further benefits. Advocates of collaborative learning usually claim that it has many huge advantages in the learning system. The first to mention is that studying as a group helps students possess various interpersonal skills such as presentation or critical thinking through the process of discussing with other peers. Secondly, students learning in a group not only are corrected the mistakes in their assignments, but also learn from the others’ inaccuracies, thereby better understanding the topic. Moreover, the class sizes are usually too large so that the teachers will probably devote less time and attention to each student; therefore, collaborative learning may become an efficient way for students to understand the lectures more comprehensively. Despite the preceding arguments, I support the view that individual learning has a more crucial role to play in the education program. Firstly, students may barely be distracted from the external environment as they could highly focus on the study sessions, while collaborative studying may lead to a chat with friends. Besides, self-study encourages students to brainstorm the problems instead of waiting for the answers from their peers. Finally, every student has different study strategies in learning; as a result, studying alone allows them to have the most suitable environment and methods of studying in order to get top marks for academic performance. In conclusion, learning as a group certainly has its advantageous aspects, but I am of the opinion that the benefits of individual learning outweigh the collaborative one in improving effectiveness in education.