The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Increased communication of people from one country to another due to tourism has made English language so common, that many believe it will be the only language that our future generations will speak. While this has it’s advantages like ease of communication and improved international relationships, it can also damage the local cultures and negatively affect the poor. Human beings are able to relate to each other due to several shared traits, of which, language is especially important. When people speak one language globally, people of different countries will undoubtedly have an extra trait in common, which will improve interpersonal relationships from individual to national levels. Additionally, language will no longer be a barrier to communication which improves ease of doing international business. People will share local knowledge and ideas more effectively. As a result, economies will benefit in the long term. However, the dominance of one language threatens the existence of other languages. This can damage cultures since many base their identity on the language they speak. For instance, Hindu’s are known for speaking, praying and writing religious texts in Hindi. It has been observed that translation into English language changes the true meaning of their text. Secondly, people who cannot learn a new language due to economic or social constraints, will invariably be considered less capable by the society. This will further push them into poverty and social backwardness. In conclusion, English as the only language in the future will bring countries and societies closer, improve bilateral ties between countries, and hence strengthen the world economy. But, this will have a negative impact on the local cultures while increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Therefore, we need to make sure that when English is adopted by all countries, the local languages are also given their due credit.