Some people think that one good way to promote world peace is through international sporting events, while others think that it is not. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that international sporting events are an effective medium of promoting world peace, while other people think that it is a waste of time and money. In my opinion, I agree that International sporting events, promote peace by bringing all the countries of the world on one stage and bringing cultures together. Firstly, in international sporting events, all the countries of the world participate and come together on the same stage. In other words, all the countries compete in these events irrespective of their geographical, economical and political differences. The best example of an international sporting event in the Olympics. In the Olympics, all the athletes and the representatives of the world meet and greet each other. This brings harmony among the nations which leads to an overall truce in the world. Secondly, international sporting events increase international reconciliation by encouraging people to travel to different countries and making them by understanding their culture, heritage, and religion. As these events take place in different countries, people travel to the hosting country to cheer and celebrate their country's team. Consequently, people understand the culture, tradition, history, and language of the organizing country. This promotes globalization, leading to a better understanding among people. Finally, international events lead to world accord by providing funds to countries in calamities or natural disasters. The international events are organized by global committees which also raise funds through these events to help countries in need. This strengthens the bond between the countries, thus improving their relations. In conclusion, in my opinion, international sporting events bring countries together at a stage where they meet, discuss and help each other, which in turn leads to world peace.