Some people think that teenagers should follow the example of older people. Others think that it is natural for teenagers to challenge what older people say. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Teenage is the most influencing phases in forming an individual’s character and personality. The belief that adolescents should chase examples set by the older generation is held by few and, on the other hand, some believe questioning the older adults is in the nature of teenage people. This essay is in the favour of the latter view, however, both sides of the argument would be looked at in the upcoming paragraphs. On one side, it is the wisdom that the aged people have acquired through their experiences which could possibly be favourable for teenagers’ wellbeing. The teenage minds are not competent enough to always make wise choices for themselves and that often turns out problematic. Drug abuse, amongst the school students is a prime example of the negative impacts that occur when there are not any set examples by the elderly to be followed. Consequently, during the teen years there should be some set guidelines to prevent youngsters from going on a self-destructive path. On the contrary, if youngsters are not allowed to challenge what they are taught, it may lead to personality and confidence related issues. During adolescence the mind is extremely curious which is deemed healthy, but holding back that curious nature can prove to be unfavourable. For instance, the majority of the patients with depression have had problems during their teenage years. Therefore, it is crucial to encourage some form of questioning before an individual starts following it. In conclusion, it is advisable for juveniles to confront what they are told to do in order to develop a strong and confident personality although, the experienced ones can really help to make informed choices.