Students should be primarily taught academic subjects so that they can pass exams, and practical skills such as cooking should not be taught. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that instead of providing any kind of practical skills every student should get only theoretical knowledge in order to pass in examinations. I completely disagree with the viewpoint as hand-on-experience in certain domains is quite beneficial for them. To begin with, admittedly knowledge in core subjects such as physics or mathematics is essential. In fact, almost all entrepreneurs look for candidates with excellent academic grades. But, by gaining practical competencies in schools and universities they become more innovative. For instance, children exert extra efforts while learning painting or art and craft so that they could produce unique artefacts. In addition, while doing so they think out of the box which helps them in improving their imaginative power after study. Furthermore, another positive aspect of practical training is that students become self-dependent adults after completion of studies. Having said that academic subjects open wider opportunities for youngsters in terms of employment or business. These peripheral knowledge sometime is unable to solve minute problems of novice employees such as cooking food unless they have prior experience pertaining to this. Instantly, maximum number of IT professionals stay away from family struggle to eat healthy food because they had never learnt this skill before. To conclude, although strong academic background leads to successful careers for many aspirants, practical skills are equally significant for overall development of children. Hence every child should not be deprived of such skills otherwise they will waste plenty of time and energy to learn them in the future.