In the past, sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win the match or to break world records. These days, they are more likely to be motivated by the prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves.

Many years ago, the athlete’s goal was to set a new world record and to be the champion in the competition. Nowadays, the medal’s position is changing and becoming less powerful than in the past. Instead of that, a huge amount of money and the popularity seem to be things which the competitors pursue to. These may affect on the youth in both sides: negative and positive.. On the first hand, when wage plays the majority of purpose, not only the meaning of the sport would be transmuted, but the match would be unfair by other parties. Therefore, the players would think they have no need to show all their courage and efforts that the reason why many audiences feel some races are no longer attractive to them. It would be more pernicious in the case of existing some members of the event relating to gamble, which makes them betray against their comrades. For example, in a football match, if team A is the winner, they would get 50000 USD or 3000 - 4000 USD for each person. However, a participant would be paid 5000 - 6000 USD in condition team A gets loser. This is totally unfavourable to that team. On the other hand, the bonus the competitors got from the championships would help them to improve themselves and the famous could bring more opportunities to them. Many talented guys who grew up in underprivileged family, but enthuse in sport needs to think about his life and to earn more money before considering the guinness. Furthermore, cash would be the better choice for athletes when the expectation of the new record is unable to reach. In conclusion, there exist drawbacks in what influence on young people’s mind is made by payments and the fame of sportsmen, however, despite this negative side, attracting money in the sport industry leads to development.