Many people believe social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

In the last decades, social networking has grown exponentially. Large amounts of people and institutions use these platforms to share content. These technological advances have led to better interconnected world, however, there are some negative aspects about it. In the following text positives and negative aspects of social networking will be discussed. Firstly, social networking is a great tool to keep individuals connected with the outside world. Indeed, social media allows people to keep in touch with their family and friends no matter how far they are. Moreover, now days everyone can have access to worldwide news, thanks to social media networks. In addition, authority abuses can be avoided when it becomes viral on social media. For example, in the United States of America, some police officers try to illegally arrest innocent people for no logical reasons. By publishing a video on social media about these situations, people and the law can take action to reduce the chances of this happening again. Despite all the positive aspects, it is unavoidable not to mention all the bad things social networking brings. To begin with, social media is a highly source of distraction and has a strong potential of being addictive. In fact, some people prefer being “online” rather than spending time with their friends and family. Also, it is important to mention the power social media gives to big institutions. The government and big companies have more control to influence peoples' choices. Eventually social media reduce individual's privacy. In conclusion, the positive impact of social media is more important than the negative. Every individual should learn to moderate their time spent on social media and protect their privacy.