Many countries use fossil fuels such as coal or oil as the main sources of energy. However, in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged.Do you think this a positive or negative development?

As a result of the environmental problems which have resulted from traditional dependence on fossil fuels, some countries have invested in alternative energy sources. Although there are some dangers in this new approach, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, there are certainly some negative consequences of increasing reliance on alternative energy sources. Perhaps the main concern is the issue of safety. Nuclear power is criticized for its potential to pollute the environment, and incidents such as the disaster at Fukushima Daiichi in Japan remind the public of the dangers of nuclear plants. The poisonous and radioactive emissions produced by the explosion not only killed many people, but also left a legacy of cancer deaths in the future. Another energy source, wind power, is criticized for a different reason. For example, many local communities oppose the installation of wind farms because they may affect the landscape and create too much noise from their generators. On the other hand, the key factor is that alternative energy sources do not cause as much pollution as the burning of fossil fuels, such as oil or coal. Firstly, green power sources are eco-friendly and do not contribute to air pollution. As there are no carbon emissions, the problems of climate change and poor air quality can be tackled by increasing use of alternative energy. Secondly, wind and solar power are both renewable sources of energy. Instead of depending on fossil fuels, which are becoming exhausted, the use of renewable energy will guarantee a boundless supply of energy for the future generation. In conclusion, I consider that it is important for governments and the public to support the use of alternative energy sources, despite the safety concerns and other impacts.