The tourist industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There has been a significant increase in the number of people who are travelling around and this trend is likely to continue as travelling has become one of individuals’ one of the favorite pastimes. However, some people argue that such a trend brings no benefit to the host country while as I see it, the booming tourism industry benefits the tourist destinations in many aspects. It is obvious that tourism promotes the local economy. Numerous visitors flood into the area spending tons of money in on transportation, hotels, restaurants as well as a variety of recreational activities, which will definitely boost the entire economy of the area. This point is best illustrated with the example of Greece where the tourism industry contributes to thea major part of the country’s GDP. In addition, host countries can also benefit culturally. By travelling to any other foreign countries, visitors gain a more clear perspective of foreign cultures and thereby promoting the mutual understanding between different nations which is the best interests of both visitors and local countries. Admittedly, there are some cases that where uncontrolled tourism can negatively impact the host countries. For example, a multitude of tourists crowded into the host country and it will cause disturbance to the local residents. In some extreme cases, tourists may produce a huge amount of rubbish and may even damage the local cultural heritage sites. However, these unpleasant behaviours of tourists are still a minor part of the whole tourism industry and with proper management and regulation, all these negative impacts can be minimized or even avoided completely. To sum up, the ever-growing tourism industry is beneficial to tourist destinations in terms of their economy and culture, but we still need to pay more attention to protect the local environment and local residents.