In many countries, people like to eat more food from other regions than can be grown in a local area. As a result, much of the food has to come from other regions. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

People from different parts of the world, these days, enjoy eating more imported food than local food. While I accept that there are some benefits of this development, I do believe that its drawbacks are much greater. On the one hand, I acknowledge that the consumption of exotic foods might benefit society as a whole in terms of well-being and economy. Firstly, people can take advantage of imported foods to improve their health. Having a rich diet including exotic foods such as oranges and kiwis can help to maintain a good health. For example, in Uzbekistan, people consuming oranges full of Vitamin C tend to build up resistance to some ailments like the cold in winter thanks to the availability of such exotic fruit in local markets. Secondly, countries in which there is surplus food could enjoy this situation in economic terms. Such countries can export their excess foods to other parts of the globe where there is a high demand for their products. A shiny example of this is Spain that often sells its surplus oranges to other nations, thereby bringing further revenue to the GDP thereof. Despite the advantages expressed above, in my opinion, a preference for imported foods over local ones is far more disadvantageous with regard to the environment and local markets. To begin with, this trend is highly likely to do more harm than good to the nature. The reason is that in most cases imported foods are brought via means of transportation like airplanes and trains which release carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. As a consequence, individuals consuming imported foods surely increase the level of their carbon footprint, contributing to the deterioration of the environment. Besides, people who prefer imported foods to domestically grown ones might unintentionally cause the failure of local farms. Being unable to sell their yielded crops owing to a growing need for exotic foods, local farmers are highly likely to face bankruptcy. For instance, a similar case occurred in my country, Uzbekistan in 2014, where local farmers were forced to get out of the local market due to the massive imports of vegetables from Russia. In conclusion, although there are some merits of the consumption of imported foods in terms of health and economy, I strongly believe that its demerits regarding the environment and local markets are of greater significance.